TDEE and Macros

TayTayDrenDren
TayTayDrenDren Posts: 65 Member
How do you guys determine your TDEE and macros? I've been trying to find mine but every calculator I've used has seemed a bit off. I'm very underweight so my BMR of course is going to be low but I'm mostly unsure of my activity level. I go to the gym about 3-4 days per week for about an hour (10-15 min are cardio with increasing speed intervals) and I work as a hostess for about 5-6 days a week where I'm on my feet for at least 4-6 hours.

As for Macros, I'm completely lost since I've seen so many different ways they can be split.

What do you think I should do?

Replies

• jkwolly
    jkwolly Posts: 3,049 Member
    Scooby's is good!

In order to determine macros, what are your goals?

• TayTayDrenDren
    edited January 2017
    I'm trying to gain muscle with as little fat as possible. I know that you are going to gain some but since I put myself through such restrictive dieting in the past I'm not exactly sure where I am in terms of fat. I also really want to get my body fat tested but all of the tests are either expensive or inaccurate. I had it tested back in October with calipers but I think the results were wrong since he didn't use them on my thighs, where I believe I have the most fat.
  • psuLemon
    psuLemon Posts: 38,389 MFP Moderator
    You can use a few different online calculators and take an average. From there track for 4 weeks and adjusted based on actual results.

Macros, in grams per lb of lbm:

.8 to 1g of protein
    .35 to .6g of fat
    Rest in carbs

To minimize fat gains, have a small surplus (10% or 250 cal over tdee) and a good progressive overload lifting program.
  • BrianKMcFalls
    BrianKMcFalls Posts: 190 Member
    You're getting good advice here. The calculations are really just a starting point, it will probably take a couple of 4 week cycles to really dial it in and that is going to be dependent on accurate logging.
  • TayTayDrenDren