Tips on gaining muscle for a woman!

Options
Thoughts and tips? I'm quite new to it! I'm training hard, but finding nutrition trickier!

Replies

• TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    trickier how?
  • Gimsteinn
    Gimsteinn Posts: 7,678 Member
    Options
    I found that Cod fish oil helped me... like crazy. I didn't have to eat in surplus but I tried that cause everyone kept saying you had to eat more than you burned to pack on muscles.
    But most people will tell you to eat more than you burn. My coach is actually against that and says that if you're eating healthy you don't have to worry about calories or bulk/cut. The muscle will come if you just keep eating, work out and stick to healthy, clean food. (wish I had met my coach before I started a bulk lol)
  • TavistockToad
    Options
    Gimsteinn wrote: »
    I found that Cod fish oil helped me... like crazy. I didn't have to eat in surplus but I tried that cause everyone kept saying you had to eat more than you burned to pack on muscles.
    But most people will tell you to eat more than you burn. My coach is actually against that and says that if you're eating healthy you don't have to worry about calories or bulk/cut. The muscle will come if you just keep eating, work out and stick to healthy, clean food. (wish I had met my coach before I started a bulk lol)

so your coach told you to recomp?
  • Gimsteinn
    Options

Yeah, I find it more effective than bulking.
  • TavistockToad
    Options

great, whatever works.
  • psuLemon
    psuLemon Posts: 38,389 MFP Moderator
    Options

The rate of muscle growth isn't faster in a recomp than a bulk. Bulks are the most optimal setting due to an energy surplus, which is different than being the most optimal for you. Glad it's working and it's a great solution for those who are afraid of fat gains or have other activities that require them to be lean.
  • psuLemon
    Options
    yayabeaks wrote: »