Advice on cutting body fat and adding muscle

Options
3 months ago I started lifting weights and can feel myself getting stronger. However I am at a stage where I need advice and direction.

I am a 6' 2 male and at the start of February 2017 I weighed 189lb with BF at 24.1%. My figures are now 175lb and 20.4% BF. With this amount of BF I still feel flabby but skinny and my clothes are falling off me! I really don't want to lose any more weight but obviously want my BF to be lower than it is just now.

My aim is really just to look good and have more definition with less flab. The advice I am after is essentially, do I keep "cutting" to get down to BF in the region of 15% and then try to "bulk"? I am concerned that at the rate I am losing weight just now I will need to get down to 160-165lbs to do this. I have read about recomposition but I am clueless about how to do this in terms of daily calorie intake and macros. I currently lift 3-4 times a week and on those days I am consuming 2000-2400 calories and on the other days around 1800-2000.

Replies

• trigden1991
    trigden1991 Posts: 4,658 Member
    Options
    At 20% bodyfat you aren't in a good place to bulk. I would cut down to sub 15% before considering trying to gain muscle.

1) Calorie deficit
    2) Lift weights
    3) Be patient
    4) Don't worry about the scale
  • sijomial
    sijomial Posts: 19,811 Member
    Options
    I have read about recomposition but I am clueless about how to do this in terms of daily calorie intake and macros. .

Train hard, calories roundabout maintenance calories, macros not particularly important but get sufficient protein.
    There's nothing complex about it.
  • craighasmillie
    craighasmillie Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    At 20% bodyfat you aren't in a good place to bulk. I would cut down to sub 15% before considering trying to gain muscle.

1) Calorie deficit
    2) Lift weights
    3) Be patient
    4) Don't worry about the scale