I've stopped weighing myself, anyone else?

Replies

• Need2Exerc1se
    Need2Exerc1se Posts: 13,576 Member
    kistockman wrote: »
    I think you have it backwards. You shouldn't stop weighing yourself, but it is okay to quit counting calories. You need to weigh yourself to make sure you are staying near where you should be. Counting calories is just a way to correct the problem if you gain weight.

This is exactly what I have been doing for the past 10 years. I would count and track just one week of the month to keep myself on track, but would weight myself weekly to be sure I wasn't gaining. Tracking the one week would keep me at or even below my GW (I loved having that 2-3 lb buffer)!

And this is exactly how I discovered that I went up about 5lbs and the lbs never came off. Tracking my calories doesn't seem to work. I tracked HONESTLY for a whole month, the lbs fluctuated, but the range was a solid 3-5lbs more than last year. They wouldn't budge.

This is been a bit demoralizing and frightening to me really. Am I going to keep creeping up as I get older? Is this a reason to continue stepping on the scale or the argument for tossing it and looking for other ways to measure my fitness?

The scale isn't a good measure of fitness, just of weight. Whether you weight yourself or your food I'd suggest letting your doctor know if you gain any more weight (even if only going by clothing tightness). The risk of thyroid problems increases with menopause so if you have unexplained weight gain it would be wise to get that checked as it's easily treatable with medication.
  • RoxieDawn
    RoxieDawn Posts: 15,488 Member
    edited September 2017
    I log my calories and I'm pretty meticulous about it, its become second nature so the calorie counting assures me I have nothing to worry about scale wise. I am in the last stages of Peri-menopause at the age of 49. Been working through the best methods and this seems to work for me and my comfort level.