Advice Please!

Options
jbean1990
jbean1990 Posts: 69 Member
Hi everyone, I'm new to strength training and 'gaining weight' and to be honest, completely new to the weights side of the gym. It's a place I used to rarely step for a number of reasons!
Anyway, about me: I'm a 27 year old male, 6 foot and around 87.5KG. I've always been 'slim' or 'lanky' as my friends put it - especially around my shoulders and upper arms - they've always been tiny. I'm also part of a running club and do x2 runs of around 10KM each, each week. Earlier this year I was around 96KG and went on a real exercise kick to lose weight and reduced my calories to a stupid amount and was running every day. I ended up about 73KG, thought I'd be happy - but couldnt be further from it. I was skin and bones!

I've now joined a gym and spent a long time researching strength training. I'm a bit of a bookworm and read every article and paper I could fine. I've joined a gym and will have a strength program created for me tomorrow when I go meet my trainer. It's always been an absolute dream to gain more muscle and look/feel better, but I never thought I could do it. The mindset was the first obstacle to overcome and I'm well and truly there now.

All I'm wanting is a couple of bits of advice - I'm going to outline my understanding of strength training and gaining muscle, and just want to know if I have it right? Or is there something glaringly wrong or misunderstood? I'm extremely grateful for all advice from people who know what they are on about!

So the way I understand it:
The idea is to train and allow adequate time (24-48 hours) rest between muscle groups.
Less reps & higher weights
90% of the outcome will depend on diet
Diet wise, I need to eat more protein and reduce and if possible eliminate sugar & bad fats and bad carbs.