Increasing Calories - What to expect & why you need patience...

Options

Replies

• heybales
    heybales Posts: 18,842 Member
    Options
    So you think if someone has a high body fat % they should use the Katch to calculate their TDEE or BMR?

According to scooby calculator my BMR= 1786, TDEE is 2143 and TDEE-20%= 1714 (which is lower than my BMR

Then the Katch says it's BMR= 1487, TDEE= 1784 and TDEE 20%= 1427.

My background is I've done WW for a while but I also eat fruits to keep my calories around 1800.
    I also worked at a pharmacy for a couple of weeks where I was burning around 3000 calories if I went to the gym after work. I would eat between 1800-2000 calories per day. Then I stopped working and kept eating that many calories. I have now gained 7lbs in the last 4 weeks. Should I just start eating at my TDEE for another few weeks for a metabolic reset?

Also I don't know which TDEE to follow

Yes.

The Harris and Mifflin BMR's based on gender, age, weight, height assume a healthy average ratio of fat to non-fat mass.

As that ratio shifts towards more fat mass as you go over healthy weight, the calc is still assuming same ratio, which isn't true.
    So it's giving more BMR calories to non-fat mass which really isn't there.

The Mifflin BMR at least scales 5% better when overweight.

The Katch BMR is doing the same thing, average ratio, but since it's based on the non-fat mass, as you go over weight and shift the ratio, it will be slightly under-estimated, because fat mass does actually use some calories in BMR (2 cal/lb/day) but it's not giving more BMR calories to fat mass that is there.

So Mifflin/Harris BMR - big inflated when overweight/over-fat.
    Katch BMR - slightly deflated when overweight/over-fat.

And with what appears to be inflated BMR of 300 cal, and TDEE of 359, it would mean if you ate at deficit using the inflated figures - you would barely if at all have a real deficit in place.

Eat inflated TDEE - 20% 1714