Calorie Counter

You are currently viewing the message boards in:

Been Judged By Your Appearance?

Replies

• LofterenLofteren Posts: 961Member Member Posts: 961Member Member
    Patients ask me at work when they're going to see the neurophysiologist. Only, I am the neurophysiologist.... apparently neurophysiologists aren't supposed to be big or have tattoos.
  • blueeyesgraceblueeyesgrace Posts: 409Member Member Posts: 409Member Member
    Lofteren wrote: »
    Patients ask me at work when they're going to see the neurophysiologist. Only, I am the neurophysiologist.... apparently neurophysiologists aren't supposed to be big or have tattoos.

I get mistaken for the doctor all the time by patients, sometimes I get mistaken for a nurse. I am neither - I am an allied health professional, but I am not a doctor or a nurse. Funny how people judge based on appearance in these situations, too!
  • jgnatcajgnatca Posts: 14,495Member Member Posts: 14,495Member Member
    There's a Ted talk about this.
    http://www.ted.com/talks/verna_myers_how_to_overcome_our_biases_walk_boldly_toward_them
    Overcome biases by gazing at faces we would normally shy away from.
  • lessismoreohiolessismoreohio Posts: 923Member Member Posts: 923Member Member
    We're all judged by our appearance each and every day; either consciously or subconsciously by the person doing the judging.
  • Holly_Roman_EmpireHolly_Roman_Empire Posts: 4,461Member Member Posts: 4,461Member Member
    I've never been more judged than when I have been pregnant.
  • seltzermint555seltzermint555 Posts: 9,551Member Member Posts: 9,551Member Member
    My favorite is men assuming because I am a women, that I don't know anything about cars. Especially when I was car shopping. It was great to see them try and explain things to me,a and more often than not they were wrong- I would then turn around and tell them they were wrong, and list the actual specs on the car I was looking at. The look on their faces= priceless.