Calorie Counter

You are currently viewing the message boards in:

Been Judged By Your Appearance?

Replies

• juniorettejuniorette Posts: 278Member Member Posts: 278Member Member
    _Tink_ wrote: »
    Yes. I picked up a second job a few months ago - just a simple retail position to help with bills. At work there, I wear jeans and the store t-shirt. I can't tell you how many customers talk down to me like I'm an idiot because I'm working in a low-paying retail position. Little do they know I have a masters degree and a former career with DoD.

I get this too. I've taught piano lessons for around 20 years, have a master degree. I needed a part time job while my kids were in school, and all that I could find was a job as a cook at a daycare. Thankfully everyone there is very nice and respectful, except the boss's boss--who only comes a few times a year to visit at least. But she definitely gives me the attitude like I'm not even worth smiling at or saying hello to.

• Joannah700Joannah700 Posts: 2,685Member Member Posts: 2,685Member Member
    It's funny when I go into Home Depot which is usually on a Sunday before Church so I'm all Dolled up in my Dresses and Heels shopping for building supplies. I am a Home Renovator and can do a lot of things from Carpentry to Plumbing and Wiring but it never fails that I'll get at least three different Guys at the store ask me what they can help me find, and if I start filling my cart with supplies let's say Plumbing for example... they assume that I don't know what I'm doing and try to school me! :confounded:

I see no reason not to turn this to your advantage.

I had to replace a piece of hardware from a desk I was refinishing and it would have taken me several minutes minutes to go through all the little bins, but...I decided to stop by after work on a day I was wearing a skirt.

Was this on purpose? Yes it was. I admit it!