Welcome to Debate Club! Please be aware that this is a space for respectful debate, and that your ideas will be challenged here. Please remember to critique the argument, not the author.

Are GMOs bad for you?

Replies

• debrakgoogins
    debrakgoogins Posts: 2,034 Member
    Considering it requires you to study biology, chemistry, genetics, and the actual GMO processes, I would say I have a more educated view on them than most who have replied here. My certification in commercial/agricultural pesticide application also helps me understand it better.

I have a degree in Horticulture. I also have a degree in Operations and Project Management. I am 11 courses away from my masters degree in Sustainability and Environmental Compliance. I might have a more educated view that you. Everything I have studied has reinforced that GMOs are not the enemy they are made out to be. Mind you, I AM an environmentalist. If I found non-biased (not sponsored by non-GMO proponents) research that GMOs were harmful in the long term, I wouldn't eat GMO products. I eat them. I feel based on personal and educational research that I and my family are safer eating GMOs than food laden with chemical pesticides.
  • nvmomketo
    nvmomketo Posts: 12,019 Member
    Considering it requires you to study biology, chemistry, genetics, and the actual GMO processes, I would say I have a more educated view on them than most who have replied here. My certification in commercial/agricultural pesticide application also helps me understand it better.