Calorie Counter

You are currently viewing the message boards in:

Protein angel food cake. Make it.

Replies

• MelodiousMermaidMelodiousMermaid Posts: 160Member Member Posts: 160Member Member
    I tried this today, but it was a flop re: angel food cake. In retrospect, I believe my issues were two-fold.

First, my shake mix is pure hemp protein powder. No sugar, no additives. I'm guessing the extra stuff that comes in conventional protein shake mixes might make a difference?

Second, other ingredient issues. I used cool egg whites (real eggs, separated) from the refrigerator, not left to warm for any reasonable period of time. Peaks did form while beating, and the initial look coming out of the oven was a raised product, but it flopped really fast and was pretty darn flat. I also added in 1 tsp honey and changed the vanilla to 1 Tbsp. This is why I am not a scientist. :p

It did, however, give me hope that I might enjoy something "pancake" like while I'm on a Dr.-restricted diet. It was pretty decent with some thawed blueberries on top, I might try making the batter, slowly mixing in the hemp protein powder, and frying up a dollop at a time. Any thoughts to share on this (especially regarding where I went wrong) would be appreciated!
  • Gisel2015Gisel2015 Posts: 2,898Member Member Posts: 2,898Member Member
    ElvenToad wrote: »
    I made it using carton egg whites at room temperature and I got peaks to form. I'm pretty sure your supposed to use shelled eggs whites though because after baking for 20 minutes it was as flat as a pancake. I did spray my pan though and the cake still stuck to it. I really must have done everything wrong because I thought it was so bad I couldn't eat it :#