Anybody eat junk food fairly regularly and just work it into calorie budget?

13»

Replies

• dave_in_ni
    dave_in_ni Posts: 533 Member
    I have fast food and junk every weekend, been the same weight for the past 2 years. I eat clean during the week which allows me to go a bit mad at the weekends. Yesterday I had a cooked breakfast, burger and fries for dinner, bar of chocolate last night, today had a roast dinner with ice cream, i weigh every Wednesday morning, I know I'll be the same weight this Wednesday.
  • Theoldguy1
    Theoldguy1 Posts: 2,454 Member
    So I totally agree with folks that you can absolutely eat/drink whatever you want and continue to lose or maintain weight. However lately I am seeing that is not the complete story. Weight is only one health metric. There are quite a few others.

I have been maintaining for almost 4 years now, and at the beginning of this month I went to the dentist for a checkup. They routinely take your blood pressure. So why was mine 148/92? I am a good weight, I run regularly. What the heck? I thought their little wrist machine must be wrong or perhaps I am just anxious at the dentist right?

So I dig out my own little BP machine and put new batteries in it and monitor. Yup... my BPs are in the 130's over 80s. Now for a 60's person that is considered normal, but for me I consider it unacceptable. So... boom. What can I change? Diet is all that remains for me to make a difference if I don't want to go on meds. So the past month yes I have reduced greatly all the "treats" which were in my cal allowance but obviously not healthy for me. This morning I was 107/72 which is what I have always considered MY normal. My readings of course vary but more and more they are under 100 / under 80. And I sleep better.....