Question on Bulking up

I'm a 17 year old Male who's 5'5 ft, 131lbs and pretty new to weight lifting. I have been lifting for the past 6 months to learn the proper way to workout. Now I have decided that I've wanted to bulk up because I have a skinny fat body. I've never bulked before so I just need a recommendation on a good weight goal. Should I bulk till I hit 140? 150? Or should it be more?

Replies

• Retroguy2000
    Retroguy2000 Posts: 731 Member
    Don't go by weight, go by body fat %. You can estimate that with the Navy method, or just go by how you look and feel. Around 12% or lower, add a few hundred calories. Around 15%, maintain your current calories. Around 18% or higher, you've probably lost sight of abs by then and are carrying noticeable fat around the stomach, you may want to drop a few pounds.
  • AnnPT77
    AnnPT77 Posts: 28,178 Member
    Good advice from Retroguy. I'd add that you want to get really good overall nutrition, especially but not exclusively adequate protein, 0.7-1.0g per pound of bodyweight at minimum, and somewhat more wouldn't be injurious.

As a male at 17, you're in prime time to add muscle, so kudos to you for working on this. As a male, you may find that you still have a little growing to do - maybe more height, maybe just filling out more in other ways (not fat, but overall body geometry). If you have any calorie deficit, keep it truly tiny. (If I were you, at your age/sex, I'd go with maintenance calories plus patience, rather than risk under-fueling potential gains.)

I understand that your body may not be exactly where you like it to be, but speaking as a female almost exactly your height and weight, I have a hard time believing you're actually "skinny fat" (in the technical definition of metabolically obese normal weight (MONW)). I can believe that you have less muscle mass than you'd like, or that you're thinner overall than you'd like, or that sort of thing, sure.

Best wishes!
  • nossmf