BIKE HELMETS.....Do YOU wear one??

Replies

• fishgutzy
    fishgutzy Posts: 2,807 Member
    I started wearing a helmet the summer I started riding a bicycle from Boston MA to Burlington. It was a great summer.
    Better to wear a helmet and never need it than not wear one and end up wishing you had.

I know one person who is alive today because he wore a helmet in the woods. Something unpredictable happened and he hit a rock head first. The helmet shattered, as it is supposed to. He had two big black eyes for a week. But he knew that with the force he hit the rock, he'd be dead without the helmet.

As others have said, cheap insurance.

A class mate of my kids didn't think he needed a helmet on his skateboard either. He was more concerned that his friends would make fun of him. No one was making fun of him at his funeral. He fell backwards and hit the concrete. A very short fall. He died two days later. Now my son doesn't complain when I tell him to wear a helmet.
  • TheBigYin
    TheBigYin Posts: 5,682 Member
    Never used to, then it became mandatory to wear helmets in competition so I started wearing them - first off in races only - then realised I needed to wear it in training to be used to the weight/heat (modern helmets are far better in this respect!)

Now, it's just part of the "uniform" - glasses, gloves, helmet, disco-slippers...
  • curvykim78
    curvykim78 Posts: 799 Member
    ALWAYS wear a helmet, no excuses!
    Sounds like a good motto!
  • curvykim78
    curvykim78 Posts: 799 Member
    I started wearing a helmet the summer I started riding a bicycle from Boston MA to Burlington. It was a great summer.
    Better to wear a helmet and never need it than not wear one and end up wishing you had.