Setting Your Calorie and Macro Targets

Replies

• Robbnva
    Robbnva Posts: 590 Member
    How do you get a 52 gram protein shake? You use 2 scoops?
  • jenglish712
    jenglish712 Posts: 497 Member
    Yeah, that's two scoops.
  • Great Info. I am new to the app, can you tell me why my calorie count does not decrease when calories are burned from exercise. Goal minus foods plus exercise....not sure why. Thanks for any help.
  • heybales
    heybales Posts: 18,842 Member
    Great Info. I am new to the app, can you tell me why my calorie count does not decrease when calories are burned from exercise. Goal minus foods plus exercise....not sure why. Thanks for any help.

Because MFP estimates a daily burn that includes NO exercise, just daily life.
    Then take a deficit to eating goal to cause weight loss.

When you exercise, you just burned more than it planned on, so you log it, daily burn went up.
    Then you take the same deficit, and eating goal is higher.

So it makes no assumptions you'll actually exercise, but when you do, you get to eat more.

So you could view it as happening several ways. Using some figures.
    Estimated non-exercise daily burn - 2000
    Deficit - 500
    non-exercise Eating goal - 1500

Workout 600 calorie burn + 2000 daily = 2600
    2600 - 500 deficit = 2100 eating goal

What MFP does to keep it simple though is just add exercise on to eating goal.
    Eating goal 1500 + 600 exercise = 2100 new eating goal.

Or in your question : 1500 - 1100 eaten + 600 exercise = 1000 left.

Same thing, different order.
  • mirrim52
    mirrim52 Posts: 763 Member
    Keep in mind, MFP does not count calories for exercises entered in to strength training. While it does burn calories, there are too many variable to estimate burn even remotely accurately.
  • heybales
    mirrim52 wrote: »