RUNNERS POST YOUR PICS!

123457»

Replies

• lairdg
    lairdg Posts: 7 Member
    I have been running since October 2012 and have lost 56 pounds using running as one of my primary forms of Cardio. I have done a lot of Spinning as well during this time as well. I started with a Couch to 5k running app and then did the Couch to 10k program. Since I have completed both of the programs I have started to run between 4-6 miles at least 4 times per week. I have no pictures to share but I am glad that I started to run. When I initially started to take my health seriously I was just over 400 pounds two years ago and now I am doing to 272 and continue to drop weight.
  • JoanB5
    JoanB5 Posts: 610 Member
    No pictures here but I can also attest to the fact that running helps TREMENDOUSLY with toning the lower body. I am now attempting to add strength training to my exercise circuit in hopes of loosing more inches and toning up! Good luck and if you are looking for a starting point, C25k WORKS!!!! And works WELL!!!!

My story, too. I started with a goal of walking 15 minutes a day at Christmas...no excuses. I didn't even HAVE to sweat if I didn't want to re-shower. Just get it done. Now, I'm running 5k's four months later, lost 15.5 pounds. : ) I would recommend some days of cross training however. Runners are known for injuries, and you need something to keep doing if you strain something, stretch something, or need a break. Plus, your upper body needs some weight training to get your core in good shape. You'll be a better runner with good strong glutes, quads, and core.
  • 01wildlife
    01wildlife Posts: 2