What does your "diet" look like?

Hey! I am new to all of this and I have a lot of fat to lose but I do not want to lose the muscle that i do have. I also would like to gain some strength by lifting to maybe help in losing the extra fat. I know i cant really gain muscle and lose fat at the same time so I want to lose the fat first then work on ganing more muscle. BUT I need help with my food I have no idea how to figure out how my macros for this. Can anyone help me out? Also i would love to see what kind of foods you are eating to hit your macros right? I can do the calorie thing just have a hard time trying to figure out what to eat for what macros. Sorry if this sounds stupid I just no next to nothing about macros LOL Thanks!! :) ps I am 5'3 212 lbs I lost 30lbs with a calorie def. a year ago after i lost a little bit of pregnancy weight and gained it all but 5lbs back :( And I want to try something new!

Replies

• SugaryLynx
    SugaryLynx Posts: 2,640 Member
    I found iifym.com was pretty helpful for macro breakdown as a starting point. I only used their calculator, ignore everything else. I aim to at least meet my macros, I don't really mind exceeding. My diary is open. I'm in the process of finding my maintenance now. I like greek yogurts, legumes, eggs, fish, lean meats, peanut butter. Well, okay I just like food lol. The great thing about doing iifym is the freedom of knowing once I hit my macros, I can still squeeze in fun stuff. I've been lifting since June 20th, 2013. Started at 170 llbs at 5'3.5 ". I'm now 119 lbs and definitely saw huge strength gains and body fat reduction. Find foods you enjoy and a program you love. Like a friend of mine has said, love the process. Don't do something you are miserable doing or you won't stick it. Adherence is key to making this a lifelong hobby. Good luck!
  • jessica182517
    jessica182517 Posts: 390 Member