Strength Gains vs. Size Gains

Replies

• happysummerrunner
    happysummerrunner Posts: 66 Member
    Thanks for the replies you 2. Very interesting!
  • Fithealthyforlife
    Fithealthyforlife Posts: 866 Member
    AS stated by a previous poster, initial gains come mostly neuromuscular adaptation. Really strong people have the ability to recruit many more muscle fibers per contraction than a normal person. And as stated you get to a point where you have to get bigger to get stronger but you can gain lots of strength initially without mass gains.

What about increased muscle definition- is that from mass gains? Or can you get increased muscle definition w/o mass gain?

I find this interesting. I just started lifting in January and I'm seeing huge increases in how much I can lift- but no muscle definition yet. (I'm also overweight sooo..... that affects being able to see muscle definition I guess).

Muscle definition is attributable to shedding the fat that is covering up the muscle. There are huge power lifters who have little to know actual definition because, while they have a lot of muscle, they are not lean and have a lot of fat also. Definition comes from reduction of BF.

It's more than just fat reduction. If you don't have the muscles in the first place, they won't show. For example, I've never had abs, but am just starting to get them now, due to compound lifts and a bulking diet. And if anything I've gained fat in that area.

Just wanted to point this out.

(Figure of speech, btw...of course I had abs before...just not developed enough to be visible.)
  • steve0820
    steve0820 Posts: 510 Member
    See this video: http://youtu.be/Pr7CjohG9qI

That is a 554 lb deadlift by a woman who weighs 150 lbs. I wouldn't say she is bulky or "big." But, you may have a different opinion.

I'd like to add Richard Hawthorne, deadlifts 639.4lbs @ 131#

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tsLecUbVf74
  • jayche
    jayche Posts: 1,128 Member
    Everybody's different.