Counting "Steps" On The Bike

Options
LJCannon
LJCannon Posts: 3,636 Member
I am sure that this question has been addressed before, but I can't seem to find it.
I have been trying to reach at least 10,000 steps every day and succeeding most of the time. I recently decided to add a Bike ride 3 times a week to my schedule. However that makes getting 10,000 steps in every day a real problem, timewise.
Do any of you convert your miles on the Bike to "Steps"? If so, how do you figure it?

:flowerforyou: Thanks!!

Replies

• MrsZMartin
    MrsZMartin Posts: 165 Member
    Options
    I've been wearing a pedometer for over 5 years now, and have never found an easy solution to this question. I usually move my pedometer to my calf or thigh when biking, so it at least counts something.....
  • Marcia_11
    Marcia_11 Posts: 143 Member
    Options
    I just did a search to see if I could find the answer to this. This is what I found (hope you like math):

How to Convert Exercise Bike Miles to Steps at http://www.ehow.com/how_6081289_convert-exercise-bike-miles-steps.html

# 1 Record the calories burned or miles biked as listed on your exercise machine after you've completed your workout. You will use that information, along with the following conversions, to calculate your steps: One mile equals approximately 100 calories; 100 calories equals approximately 2,000 steps.

# 2 Use the following formulas and a calculator to figure your approximate steps:
    Number of miles times 2,000 equals your number of approximate steps.
    Or
    Number of calories divided by 100 times 2,000 equals your number of approximate steps.

# 3 Use the following process to determine your true number of steps. Start by using masking tape and a tape measure to mark the start and end point of a 30-foot straight line.