Cardio question!

I have been doing MFP for about 6 months and I normally run on the treadmill for 60 minutes 5 days a week. When I first started out I was 224 and I was losing weight like crazy. Now I'm 172 and I seem to not lose weight as easily. I know once you get closer to your goal(mine is 150-160) that it slows down..but it seems like the cardio isn't working anymore when it was working wonders before.
I recently upped my calories to 1700 from 1430 because I seemed to be at a plateau possibly and last week I dropped almost 4lbs on a 3 day break from working out..now I'm back to it at I've gained .6 in 2 days.
I've read that cardio can make you fat, but also that cardio is good for you. I've also added in some pushups, squats, and a couple arm work outs but nothing crazy on weights since I don't have that ability to use weights.
Any advice on cardio or anyone else experience this??

Replies

• start lifting weights
  • breakyoface
    breakyoface Posts: 160 Member
    Yea, but I just said that's not possible for me right now..
  • yopeeps025
    yopeeps025 Posts: 8,680 Member
    I've read that cardio can make you fat,
    When they say cardio makes you fat they mean that cardio can get to the point of burning too much protein which can have muscle loss.

I can recommend upping protein and weight training might be able to push you into some more weight loss.
  • wkwebby
    wkwebby Posts: 807 Member
    Cardio isn't making you fat...it is just NOT building any muscles. The gain could easily be explained by water retention (since you started the push ups and such) due to new regimen. Have you recalculated your caloric needs? Have you kept up with protein numbers to help retain the muscle you do have?

Most important, we are all assuming you have measured your food correctly. Especially since you are so close to your goal weight.
  • TAsunder
    TAsunder Posts: 423 Member