Too Much Water?

So I was looking into how much water I should be drinking everyday and I was told about a formula to figure it out. Take half of your current weight and that's how many ounces of water you should be drinking everyday. Ok, that didn't sound too bad. When I put that into liters, however, it seemed like a lot. With my current weight, I should be drinking around 3 liters of water everyday. Now I know hydration is great and water helps with all sorts of things (I work in the medical field). But I'm curious... wouldn't 3 liters of water everyday start to effect your blood chemistry? With that much water going through your system it would start to dilute your blood and screw with your ions and natural sodium levels.

I managed to get 3 liters in yesterday and I was peeing every 30 minutes like clockwork, which got a little annoying. At that point, it just seemed like the water was going straight through my system instead of hydrating my body. Is there anyone who can advise this on a medical level, particularly relating to blood chemistry?

Replies

• Fat4Fuel2
    Fat4Fuel2 Posts: 280 Member
    I'm not sure if I can answer the chemistry part of your question, but everyone is different. Hydration look like very light yellow urine. If you're urine is that color, you're good. If it's darker, drink some more. It also takes time for your body to adjust. As you drink more water more regularly, you'll find that drinking 3L a day is easy and you might even want to increase it. Peeing every 1/2 hr is way too much, but if you're using the bathroom once every 2 hrs or so, you're probably hydrated. Also, caffeine is a diuretic (i.e. will dehydrate you by making you pee more). If you're drinking coffee and lots of water, you will be peeing constantly.
  • sheldonz42
    sheldonz42 Posts: 233 Member
    Several sources have debunked the "caffeine dehydrates you" myth. Mayo Clinic for one.
  • Nony_Mouse
    Nony_Mouse Posts: 5,646 Member