college budget

Hey guys,

So I'm a college student on a college budget. Fast food seems to be the only food I can afford. I would like to start grocery shopping but I feel like it's out of reach. Does anyone know of a daily/weekly meal plan that can accommodate my kind of budget? My daily cal goal is 1700. Thanks in advance.

Replies

• segacs
    segacs Posts: 4,599 Member
    Grocery shopping should be cheaper than fast food, if you do it right.
  • Emilia777
    Emilia777 Posts: 978 Member
    I can’t go so far as a meal plan, but I agree that making your own food is cheaper than FF if you plan things.

I usually shop the sales for lean proteins, either chicken, fish, or pork (I don’t like beef much). Liver is also usually inexpensive, if it’s your thing. For veggies, I like the frozen stuff, unless something is cheap because it’s in season. Finally, I love beans, especially lentils: buying the dry rather than canned can save you a lot of money. Lentils, especially, are extremely inexpensive and high in both protein and fibre.

This is just what comes to mind. Good luck!
  • Lounmoun
    Lounmoun Posts: 8,426 Member
    You can buy ingredients that will make several meals for the cost of a single fast food meal.
    Look at things like oatmeal, potatoes, rice, pasta, dry beans or lentils, apples, carrots, spinach, peanut butter, bread, eggs, cheese, yogurt. Buy whole things instead of paying someone to cut, shread, bone or skin things for you. Buy generic or store brand items. Frozen vegetables can be good because you can take out a smaller portion without worrying about the rest going bad before you can finish it. Soup is easy to make and a good dollar stretcher.
    Pool your money with friends and share a meal.
    budgetbytes.com
  • segacs
    edited April 2015
    Edit.
  • StaciMarie1974
    StaciMarie1974 Posts: 4,138 Member
    What were you buying/how much were you spending before?
  • MonaLisaLianne
    MonaLisaLianne Posts: 377 Member