I'm 60lbs over weight and don't know where to start

So, I'm 60lbs over weight and don't know where to start. I'm getting married in 4 months! I could literally cry how much weight I've gained in such a short amount of time. I graduated in 2012, weighing my lowest of 114lbs, felt great.. But come on, it was high school.. Never really are out back then because we were kinda poor and ate homecooked meals on the daily, and not healthy ones, I'm hispanic so rice and beans are a must..as of 2015 I'm 60lbs over weight.. Getting married and have horrible eating habits. I think once I left the nest and was on my own my fiancé and I ate out often, on dates and just to do it. I did take one shot of birth control that many women said made them gain at least 30lbs. I'm convinced that's what made the 30lbs come and the other 30 from me just not being healthy. Anyway I have no idea where to start. I've already switched up my diet and added more salads, love them for lunch. But I don't know what do do at all I've never had to loose weight like this before. If anyone has tips please help me out! Thank you!

Replies

• strong_curves
    strong_curves Posts: 2,229 Member
    Start by reading the first post in this thread, in fact read it a few times:

http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/1080242/a-guide-to-get-you-started-on-your-path-to-sexypants/p1

You CAN lose weight eating beans and rice, as long as you eat less than you are physically burning.
  • goaliesmate
    goaliesmate Posts: 49 Member
    Are you still eating your rice and beans? Maybe going back to eating homemade food is the only change you need to make to save on the calories every day.
  • segacs
    segacs Posts: 4,599 Member
    It sounds like you're overwhelmed. The first and most important step to getting a handle on your weight is to make the decision to change. You've done that just by being here, so congratulations!

Here are some good resources to get you started: