Student life and alcohol

I'm a student and I'm having a really hard time to control my calorie intake with alcohol.
Any other students out there recognizing the problem? And how do you deal with it?

Replies

• juggernaut1974
    juggernaut1974 Posts: 6,212 Member
    edited January 2016
    I'm not currently a student but I was (****# OF YEARS REDACTED***) years ago

Knowing how much I drank then, I can imagine that the two (alcohol/college life and weight loss) don't mix well.

You'll need to use a combination of a few strategies:
    1. Drink lower-cal alcohol (light beers, etc)
    2. Do the "every other drink" trick (a glass of water or club soda for every alcoholic drink)
    3. Up your exercise calorie burn
    4. Plan ahead - if you know you're going out on Friday night, 'bank' an extra 100 calories each day from Monday-Thursday
    5. Offer to be the DD
  • pondee629
    pondee629 Posts: 2,469 Member
    My college years were the last years where I had a chance of out running a bad (high calorie) diet. Of course, they led to the downfall from which I am still picking myself up.
  • skydiveD30571
    skydiveD30571 Posts: 281 Member
    I'm not a student anymore, but I still deal with balancing alcohol into my day. I know I'm going out tonight so I planned ahead with smaller breakfast/lunch and will be getting an extra workout in tomorrow morning. It's a pain but personally I prefer it better than never drinking again.
  • callsitlikeiseeit
    callsitlikeiseeit Posts: 8,627 Member
    i drink nearly every day but not like a college student (i save that for once a month LOL)

plan for it. if you are serious about your weight loss, you will prioritize what and how much, you put in your body.
  • middlehaitch
    middlehaitch Posts: 8,481 Member
    I did a lot of dancing to work off the alcohol calories and stay fit.

This is retrospective knowledge as I ate like a pig; drank like a fish, didn't believe in purposeful exercise, and barely stayed at 105lbs.