Whats a good gym routine?

Hello. I recently lost 17 pounds. I just joined the YMCA. I have been doing mostly cardio. But I'd like to build some muscle and tone up a bit.

I'm not comfortable with benching yet because I'm by myself. But they have other equipment. I'm new to all this so I don't know how many reps I should be doing or what I need to work on. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Replies

• arditarose
    arditarose Posts: 15,575 Member
    Get on a beginners lifting program. Full body 3x per week would be good. Something like Strong Lifts 5x5, Starting Strength, Ice Cream Fitness, All Pros.

No offense but...is there a reason you're afraid to bench by yourself? Many of us do. At least until we are up near our max.
  • boomersports123
    boomersports123 Posts: 20 Member
    Just lighten the weight on the bench till you get comfortable with it then gradually move the weight up as you get stronger and more comfortable with the lift. Unless you have some sort of underlying issue. Good luck with your goals
  • bf2311786
    bf2311786 Posts: 13 Member
    Lol I'm mainly embarrassed that I've never really lifted. So I feel awkward trying. Stupid I know. But I feel like everyone is staring at me struggling with the tiniest bit of weight lol. No underlying issues at all I just need to push myself out of my comfort zone I guess. Thanks guys!
  • bf2311786
    I'm just trying to learn everything for the first time. I want to make sure I'm doing it effectively.
  • arditarose
    bf2311786 wrote: »
    Lol I'm mainly embarrassed that I've never really lifted. So I feel awkward trying. Stupid I know. But I feel like everyone is staring at me struggling with the tiniest bit of weight lol. No underlying issues at all I just need to push myself out of my comfort zone I guess. Thanks guys!