Is 1700 calories a good amount to eat a day?

Hi guys! I'm new to myfitnesspal and I have decided to change my lifestyle for the long run! Right now i weigh 205 and i'm 5'11 and live a pretty sedentary lifestyle (which is going to change!). I would love to lose 30 pounds before July. I used to live a very, very unhealthy lifestyle. No gym, eating out ALL the time *every meal* and had no motivation to lose weight until now. At the moment myfitnesspal calculated that I should be eating 1700 calories a day, and I just wanted to read your guys opinions on it!! Thank you! :)

Replies

• jmackey1980
    jmackey1980 Posts: 29 Member
    Where did you come up with 1,700? I'm 6'1" and 236lbs at the moment and MFP tells me to eat around 1,600 cals a day to lose 2 lbs a week. If your goal is to lose about 1 lb a week, then you may be around the right number. To lose 30 lbs by July, I think you're perhaps high depending how much exercise you intend to do.
  • tusiajay
    tusiajay Posts: 6 Member
    edited February 2016
    1700 a day is what MFP calculated for me when I first downloaded the app and put in all of my information, and yeah i'm going to try and get back into going to the gym but i'm not going to lie i'm a little intimidated.
  • Jack_NYC
    Jack_NYC Posts: 64 Member
    Hi and welcome to MFP!

I agree with JMackey1980 that 1,700 sounds rather high. You may want to recheck that.
  • vespiquenn
    vespiquenn Posts: 1,455 Member
    I'm going to disagree with the posters above. I am 25, 5'9" and lose .5-1lb on 1600-1700 a week if I'm actually being accurate. Even set at sedentary, which I am not, I am given 1620 calories a day.

In the end, try it for a few weeks. If you're not seeing the results MFP predicts, tweak your calories.
  • kimny72
    kimny72 Posts: 16,023 Member
    1700 sounds fine to me, I am a lot shorter and older than OP and can lose on not much less than that.