Cheat Meal or Day

2»

Replies

• whitneyr137
    whitneyr137 Posts: 31 Member
    I do LCHF, not strictly keto so I aim for less than 75g total (not net) carbs daily. I agree with previous posters, regularly scheduled "cheat days" or "cheat meals" do not a successful lifestyle change make.
    I've been doing this WOE for over 3 months now and have had a few days with total carbs 100-150g so I guess you could call me an occasional cheater. When I have a desire to eat something not so carb friendly (which is rare by the way), I weigh the pros and cons and decide if it's really worth it and if I really want it. My thought is an occasional carb-filled splurge (ie. a few chips & salsa, alcohol, scoop of ice cream) isn't going to affect the long term outcome as I am not trying to keep my body in ketosis. However, a planned cheat where you eat like a carb-crazed maniac isn't a good idea if you truly want to change your lifestyle.
  • DorkothyParker
    DorkothyParker Posts: 618 Member
    I drink beer a couple nights a month. I don't use that as a reason to ingest other types of carbs. I'm just afraid if I stop drinking beer, I'll be deported as a phony Cascadian.
  • KenSmith108
    KenSmith108 Posts: 1,966 Member
    I don't have planned cheats but I do have complete
    g9j0rar3x5ks.jpg

It usually takes days & extra insulin to get my sugar back on track.

>:) or o:)
  • Tappy44
    Tappy44 Posts: 1,050 Member
    When I see someone that hasn't started the WOE yet, asking about a "cheat meal"...
    what I read is either, I'm not ready to fully commit or I know I can't sustain this WOE.

I could be wrong in any case, but if you have low willpower to begin w/ it could potentially set you up for disaster with heavy cravings, especially if you haven't been at this for long.

I don't personally believe in "refeed" or "reset" or "confusing the body"...if I want a slice of pizza, I call it what it is and it's typically never planned.