Hello! Newbie here

sati_18
sati_18 Posts: 18 Member
Hi everyone

I hope that this is OK to post an intro and request for support.

I'm new to the whole low carb idea but have been lurking for a couple of days and you guys seem like a nice bunch so I thought I would brave it and see about making some healthy and helpful friends.

The reason I'm looking at low carb is because I struggle hugely with binging. I have a history of bulimia and whilst I've had all the therapy available out there and through that process have learnt a vast amount about my challenges triggers and issues, I've never really been able to overcome the binging and its hindering me in my recovery. This isn't some reaction to me starving my calories the rest of the time or something stupid like that - I eat and have no problem doing so. It just feels like madness

This year I have reached my highest weight ever, an overweight bmi, and developed some of the most destructive binging behaviour I've ever had. I'm also getting married in just under 4 months and I refuse for my wedding photos to be a lifelong reminder of me at my largest and unhappiest. That cannot be what recovery means for me and it needs to change.

I have never tried low carb but after spending the past few weeks reading up on it I am cautiously optimistic that this may finally help me break the cycle and allow me to finally become the healthy individual I so long to be.

Day one is going well so far, I've been on my own all day and despite having more than enough opportunity and being a little hungover from NYE I'm not inhaling everything in the fridge which is very encouraging.

I would love to hear from any of you that have found this helpful in reducing binging, or indeed any nice nonjudgemental people who are happy to be added so I can snoop your diaries. My own is open to friends but not public because I haven't wanted to deal with people critiquing my intake whilst being in this low of a place eating wise.