Mom2Annie's Progress Thread

Replies

• EVP_NZ
    EVP_NZ Posts: 117 Member
    Wow. Good for you! Keto is an adjustment and super expensive at first. You eventually end up eating so much less food that I find it evens out. Keto fits hand-in-glove with fasting.

It's not for everyone, but I'm convinced it's the fuel my body runs on best. Let me know if you have any questions. I'm no expert by any means, but I've been eating this way a couple of years.
  • Mom2annie
    Mom2annie Posts: 177 Member
    Thanks, Erin. I will probably pick your brain soon! Thanks for the encouragement and willingness to help.
  • EVP_NZ
    EVP_NZ Posts: 117 Member
    How's it going?
  • Mom2annie
    Really well! I'm losing weight and I'm not craving carbs. I do find it a bit difficult to reach my calorie goal and stay within my LCHF macros, but I generally find a way with enough thought and creativity.

That said, I am getting a little worried that the high fat part of LCHF may be contraindicated for my acid reflux. I'm trying to come off of a proton pump inhibitor (Prevacid) and, according to what I've read, that involves avoiding "triggers." Most of the (possibly outdated) science-based articles I've come across say that a high fat diet is a trigger. Yet, most of the anecdotal evidence indicates that LCHF (or just LC) completely, or nearly, cures acid reflux.

Tapering off of PPIs is said to be very difficult and painful. The last thing I want to do is make it even more difficult on myself by eating too much fat. It's clear that LC is best for acid reflux, but it's not clear if that includes LCHF.

I'm torn, but for today, I'm sticking with the LCHF (and OMAD). :) My weight is steadily dropping--it's wonderful!

Thanks for checking on me. I need to go catch up on your thread too. :)
  • Brendalea69
    Brendalea69 Posts: 3,863 Member
    LCHF helped with my acid reflux :smile:
  • Mom2annie
    Thanks Brenda!
  • arguablysamson
    arguablysamson Posts: 1,706 Member