Considering crossfit!

I'm a 32 yr old woman, pretty overweight. I've lost 40 pounds and have a ways to go. My main goal is to be healthy and strong. I've been doing a lot of cardio and ready to add some strength training into my exercise routine. I've heard pros and cons of crossfit and would love to hear some testimonials from people who love crossfit and maybe some who have been there, done that, and decided it's not for them.

Replies

• ocrXfitter
    ocrXfitter Posts: 123 Member
    It all depends on your goals and your coach. For general getting in shape, Crossfit can be really great. Just make sure the coaches are good--that they go through everything with you and at your pace. I used to do body building and then powerlifting, but I've been doing Crossfit for a few years now and definitely prefer it.
  • rybo
    rybo Posts: 5,424 Member
    I've become a big fan of crossfit recently. Even going to take my L1 certification in 2 weeks. You have to try it, that's the only way you will know. It all comes down to the individual box and coaches. Teaching you the proper fundamental skills is paramount, as well as appropriately scaling the work out to your fitness and skill level. Some places are much better at that than others.
  • jnomadica
    jnomadica Posts: 280 Member
    I did CF several years ago. Here are some thoughts on my experience:
    Pros- fun workouts in a team atmosphere, focus on strength and health (instead of appearance)
    Cons- very expensive, a lot of emphasis on Paleo (I'm vegetarian!), I felt pushed beyond my capabilities and had some injuries
    I'm sure this is box specific and I know plenty of people that have great experiences, but it wasn't for me.
  • RichardHerzog
    RichardHerzog Posts: 4 Member