2200 calories?

I'm currently trying to maintain my weight. I'm an 18 yr old female, 5'1 and 100 lbs. I eat about 2200 calories a day which is way more than MFP says I need. I tried eating the amount mfp said I needed (about 1700 w exercise) but I would end up feeling really tired. I run xc for my high school (~35 mpw) and I was lifting weights but I recently got a job and have no time. I'm satisfied with the amount I'm eating, but I also feel like it might be too much because I see very few people eating this amount and it is way over mfp's recommended amount. At the end of the night, I still find myself wanting more food. I know nobody here can tell me if 2200 cals/day is the "right" amount for me, but I guess I'm wondering if this is a normal amount of calories for someone my age and activity level. Thanks!

Replies

• 883xlsportster
    883xlsportster Posts: 221 Member
    I'm no expert but everyone burns differently. So many variables from one person to the next. Don't take MFP data as Gospel. Do track your calories and tweak your macros. Maybe more fats will help with how you feel? Maybe not. Maybe you need more then 2200 a day? Maybe not. You are the best judge of finding a balance of how you feel, what the scale is saying and how you are performing in your sport. Unfortunately finding the right balance may take some time. Good luck.
  • noorandjenna1
    noorandjenna1 Posts: 41 Member
    edited April 2017
    You're young and very active. If that calorie amount works for you, that's great!
    I am also 18, even when sedentary I'm hungry quite often, especially at night, just like you.
    MyFitnessPal's calculation is just an estimation, you can adjust from there with what suits for you.
    Many people find the amount that it gives them is a bit low.
  • STEVE142142
    STEVE142142 Posts: 867 Member