Sore. What's normal?

I strained the back of my legs either cycling or with straight legged dead lifts. I'm new to lifting so I'm not really sure which it is, but cycling has never made my legs feel this way. I also worked my arms Monday and I'm still sore.

I took yesterday off from cycling.

So the question is, seeing as I'm still sore, should I work my arms again today, or hold off? Are you supposed to be fully rested before you work a body part again, or should there be some residual soreness?

Replies

• jjpptt2
    jjpptt2 Posts: 5,650 Member
    There really isn't a "should" or a "normal"... everyone is different in this regard, and different workouts can produce different types of soreness.

Generally speaking, if the soreness is significant enough that it will impact your ability to workout "properly" (form, intensity, duration, etc... whatever that may mean to you and your workout), then wait. Use the muscles to help loosen them up and speed up recovery (walking, swimming, cycling, stretching, etc... just keep it light). Then get back on your routine once you feel up for that day's workout.
  • rachel780mpg
    rachel780mpg Posts: 83 Member
    For me, it makes my muscles feel better to work them out again.
  • visualizefit
    visualizefit Posts: 26 Member
    Thank you, guys.
  • capaul42
    capaul42 Posts: 1,390 Member

Same here. I'm currently still sore from weeding my back yard on Monday and my Sunday/Tuesday workouts. I still plan on my regular workout tonight.
  • sllm1
    sllm1 Posts: 2,114 Member
    Once you warm up properly, you won't feel the soreness. It helps me to work out the soreness as well.
  • sgt1372
    sgt1372 Posts: 3,974 Member
    OP: I personally do not work out sore muscles. I let them rest and use palliative measures if necessary to relieve the soreness until it goes away.

Like pain, soreness is your body teling you that something is wrong. You can either listen to that msg or not.