Check my form? Squat, RDL & Lat Pulldown [VIDEOS]

bribucks
bribucks Posts: 431 Member
edited February 2018 in Fitness and Exercise
Hello all! Husband and I are new to this whole lifting thing (or at least, new to taking it seriously) and want to check our forms before progressing in weight. Any advice or suggestions are welcome! Thanks.

PS - Hopefully this embeds the videos properly!

ETA - I am aware that the smith machine is not ideal. However that is all we have access to at our gym ... no other rack or even barbells. No heavier dumbbells either ...

Squats
https://youtu.be/K5ZsGJSesPs

https://youtu.be/NYnobSACDO4

Romanian Deadlifts
https://youtu.be/xW_rG7KPst8

https://youtu.be/xkS_kz9mHX0

Front Lat Pulldowns
https://youtu.be/iACa5NqHzRA

https://youtu.be/dqSG17NPB2E

Replies

• THeADHDTurnip
    THeADHDTurnip Posts: 413 Member
    edited February 2018
    I'm no expert here since I've been lifting for a little over a year:

Squats seem ok since you're in a smith, hard to tell for me.

Get out of the smith machine with those RDLs. You're both too far away from the bar, have the bar slightly graze your shins. It's turning it into a lower back exercise.

Lat pull downs, it doesn't look like you both are getting full contraction. You really gotta squeeze and hold at the bottom of the rep. Hand grip too close, widen it up some. Pull your torso back a little and drive that bar into the chest.
  • bribucks
    Get out of the smith machine with those RDLs. You're both too far away from the bar, have the bar slightly graze your shins. It's turning it into a lower back exercise.

Unfortunately the smith machine is the only option at our gym, no other rack or barbells.

Any fixes? Would stepping our feet forward more help?
  • THeADHDTurnip
    THeADHDTurnip Posts: 413 Member
    edited February 2018
    bribucks wrote: »

Unfortunately the smith machine is the only option at our gym, no other rack or barbells.

Any fixes? Would stepping our feet forward more help?