Plyometrics AKA "jump training"

Making this post because I am curious if anyone has experience or knowledge on plyometrics.

(Plyometrics or "jump training" or "plyos", are exercises in which muscles exert maximum force in short intervals of time, with the goal of increasing power)

I have been researching this type of work out but I am still learning.
Ayone have experience with this type of workout? Any tips on how to begin?

Pros and cons?
I have seen alot of the information is geared to athletes.
I am not a professional but I do want to focus on strength, endurance and agility.
I have also seen some people on social media mixing these moves into their workouts.

So does anyone have any helpful information,tips or criticisms about working out this way?

I am going to ease my way into things and won't be rushing into anything too difficult- safety first!

Open to any ideas, tips or links to videos and information!

Replies

• cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,876 Member
    I do plyo work...I don't do a stand alone plyo workout, it's just a part of my weight room routine. Like I'll do a set of dead lifts and then do jump squats then rest and repeat. Weighted squats into box jumps and then rest repeat, etc. I also do Olympic lifts which have an element of plyo work inherent in the movements.
  • TXNovaTX
    TXNovaTX Posts: 26 Member
    Awesome!
    I think I am going to also try out working some moves into my usual routine.
    I am going to look up the moves you listed and see more about them.
    I definitely need to mix some new elements into my work outs. While they can be a good amount of time I don't ever feel like I'm really working my body when I do my basic stuff.
  • mutantspicy
    mutantspicy Posts: 624 Member