Question for experienced runners

Hey, so I’m new to running. Really new. I’m 23, 5’3” and 200lbs. I’ve never ran in my life.

Now, I started doing the couch to 5k app and figured I need to go 6mph to run the 5km suggested in this program by the end. So I started and almost died for three weeks. I repeated workouts and after the run sections I would nearly throw up, I was light headed. Wasn’t good.

So my friend told me maybe I should slow it down to 5mph. I gave it a go today and went 5 minutes without stopping with two minute walk breaks 4 times. With couch to 5k, I was doing 1.5 minutes and it was more exhausting with two minute walk breaks 4 times over.

My question is this: which is better? Speed or distance? Should I continue at 5mph until I can run the 5k then slowly work up to running 6mph or should I continue running the 6mph workout? Thanks.

Replies

• jamesnexusseven
    jamesnexusseven Posts: 16 Member
    I'm new too so I feel your pain. I have a set route I follow every other day I go running. I do not follow a programme. I just try to increase the distance I can go before I stop for the first time.

My route is currently about 3.1km which I complete in about 23-26 minutes. I stop and walk about 2-3 times. My best is 2.3km without stopping. I was ill last week though (dizzy) so didn't run at all. It's affected my run last night and Sunday night.

Good luck to you though. Just try and go for distance. I think keeping an eye on your time and trying to improve it over time is the best way. Your better to jog for 15 minutes instead of sprinting for 30 seconds. It's the sustained excersize that will help you.

James.
  • RunForPizza88
    RunForPizza88 Posts: 56 Member
    Honestly, don’t worry about the speed. You are getting out and doing it which is great! For your weight at that height I think your suggested speed of 5mph is just fine but if I were you I wouldn’t focus on pace for now!