Advice On Dealing With Hunger?

So I'm very new to dieting and although I know dieting isn't supposed to equal going hungry I've been having a really hard time with staying full throughout the day. I end up accidentally going alittle over my daily allowed calorie intake and I really just don't know what to do. Any advice on curbing hunger (expecially at night) would be greatly helpful and appreciated, thank you.

Replies

• jennifer_417
    jennifer_417 Posts: 12,344 Member
    Drink more water. I know it sounds dumb, but it's really easy to mistake thirst for hunger.
    Try eating foods with more protein and/or fiber. For many people, these foods keep them fuller, longer.
  • kimny72
    kimny72 Posts: 16,013 Member
    edited February 2019
    In addition, make sure your deficit isn't too aggressive. Did you choose 2 lbs per week? How much weight do you have to lose? Are you eating back some of your exercise calories?
  • andysport1
    andysport1 Posts: 592 Member
    Drink water, black coffee but once you are hungry it's too late, just eat. Try making better choices, tomorrow be more prepared, drink more fluids to stave off hunger, have good food choices available.
  • TravisJHunt
    TravisJHunt Posts: 533 Member
    Also remember you might go a little over a day here and there. Its not 100% an exact science either so 50 cals one way or the other isn't going to blow the whole thing up, unless of course you're always on the over side.
  • smolmaus
    smolmaus Posts: 442 Member
    edited February 2019
    How hungry are we talking here? You shouldn't necessarily need to be "full" all day but you shouldn't be getting too hungry either. When you're too hungry it can be hard to make sensible choices and getting too hungry a lot can lead to just getting fed up with the restriction and eating everything. And that can be the start of a nasty binge-restrict cycle.