Can i eat sugar ?

Hello guys

Sorry for asking this silly question I imagine it must be redundant for those of you who've been here for a while, but I'm fairly new to all this and although I've gathered some very useful information thanks to the work of nutritionist experts like Lyle McDonald or Alan aragon, I haven't still figured the reason why sugar is cristallizing so much fear attention or focus among the people who try to lose weight.

I'm currently on a cut following the IIFYM "diet" although I don't really consider to be a real diet since I can theoretically eat what I want as long as it fits my macros, but of course I don't do it and I'm quite picky in the type of nutrients I chose to eat largely prefering organic non transformed products since it provides more overall macros, micros and are generally health wise a much better option than their synthetic behalf.

Still the question of sugar in all this remains, as a newb dieter I suspect it to be an "enemy" that I should avoid but since I'm taking this whole thing more rationnally and looking only at it's caloric and macros input, some spoons of white sugar throughout the day doesn't seem to pose that much of a trouble.

Is it tho ? Need your advices !

Replies

• sweetbe44
    sweetbe44 Posts: 195 Member
    I think everything in moderation. Refined sugar provides no nutrients whatsoever, but if most of your diet is coming from nutrient dense, whole foods then then a bit of refined sugar won’t derail you.
  • Panini911
    Panini911 Posts: 2,325 Member
    unless you have a medical issue requiring restritive sugar intake - yes you can eat sugar.

best to eat a balanced diet which should lead to not OVER eating sugar but few people are eating THAT badly.
  • RelentlessWyll
    RelentlessWyll Posts: 13 Member
    Again I wanna thank you all guys for your quick support, really feels great to have this kind of backup around !