Need just a little advice just a little motivation I guess

Options
Hi

I’ve been dieting for about 2-3 months now. Don’t really know what weight I started at to be honest maybe 106kg (174cm). I’m down to 98 now, I have been quite active with increasing my ability to jog from 100m to 2km, doing that or walking 3km self initiated exercise each day. I have started a very physical job, involving constantly lifting 10-15kg bags for 5 or so hours. My issue is that I feel like I’ve been stuck at 98kg for too long and that I’m either eating too much (average 6,000kj per day, high protein) or I’m not doing something right either food wise (maybe portion?) or exercise. Is 6k kilojoules per day for my lifestyle too much, could I have just plateud for a short period?. Feels a bit of a let down for the amount of effort I am putting in.

Appreciate any advice

Thanks
Travis

Replies

• jlklem
    jlklem Posts: 259 Member
    Options
    If your not losing weight you have set you burned calories to high somewhere...or you log/estimate your food to low. Ton of factors to weight loss but the calories in/out trumps them all.
  • WholeFoods4Lyfe
    WholeFoods4Lyfe Posts: 1,517 Member
    Options
    It sounds like maybe you are not eating enough for the amount of activity you are doing. Personally, I would try to find your new maintenance amount with the starting of this new job, eat at maintenance for 2 or so weeks, and then start to try to lower your calories again to start losing weight.
  • MikePTY
    MikePTY Posts: 3,814 Member
    edited May 2019
    Options
    6000kj is 1500 calories. That is way too little considering how active your job is. 8kg is a lot of loss over 2-3 months. It's hard to say how much because you don't exactly have good data points to begin with. But you have been losing steadily. At your height, I'd say .5kg or .75kg a week is a better rate of loss than trying to target 1kg a week.