Squats are painful

allft
allft Posts: 3 Member
Hi there I am new to this but thanks if your taking time to read this,
Whenever I do squats( I’m a beginner) it cause pain at the front of my knees around the calves, any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

Replies

• rheddmobile
    rheddmobile Posts: 6,840 Member
    Are these weighted or body weight squats?

If you have a partner, have them check your form. Or video yourself so you can look at your own form.

If the problem is form, one good way to master squat form as a beginner is to start by doing box or chair squats. Put a box or chair behind you and squat back as if you are going to sit down. Touch, then lift back to a starting position. It can also help to begin with something other than a back squat with a barbell, such as a goblet squat - basically a goblet squat is holding a dumbbell by one end against your chest. Then start back squats with low weight - the bar without weights, or if that’s too much, use a broomstick. Add weight as long as your form remains good.

If your knees hurt even with good form, someone else will have to help you!

• Cherimoose
    Cherimoose Posts: 5,210 Member
    Try goblet squats with a nice wide stance, following these form tips:
    https://www.builtlean.com/2016/11/30/goblet-squat-form/
    Post an update. :+1:
  • emmies_123
    emmies_123 Posts: 513 Member
    I agree with rheddmobile, I learned good form by doing chair squats. Started with no weight (hands in praying position or on your hips), then added goblet or shoulder-racked weight. Only side note I can add is to also make sure your weight is even across your foot, not too much in toes or heel only.

Might help if you do a squat and try to hold lower position, then run a mental checklist of form like "do I feel weight in entire foot? Yes. Is my back straight and upright? Yes. Are my knees 90 degrees and not past my foot? Yes."
  • grob49
    grob49 Posts: 125 Member