Does anyone else lose weight nonlinearly?

Thin_Thesis
Thin_Thesis Posts: 3 Member
edited July 2019 in Health and Weight Loss
It’s so frustrating because I average a pound a week, but I only see that trend after a month or two. In the meantime, the scale goes so up and down not only from day-to-day, but week-to-week! It makes me feel like I’ll never hit my goal. But sure enough, if I stick with it, the trend tends to even out. It just makes everything so much less predictable :(

Replies

• LouVee186000
    LouVee186000 Posts: 81 Member
    It’s so frustrating because I average a pound a week, but I only see that trend after a month or two. In the meantime, the scale goes so up and down not only from day-to-day, but week-to-week! It makes me feel like I’ll never hit my goal. But sure enough, if I stick with it, the trend tends to even out. It just makes everything so much less predictable :(

Yep, same for me. I've been weighing daily for about six months and the overall trend is good, but the daily can be frustrating. Still, I prefer the daily data.

• lgfrie
    lgfrie Posts: 1,449 Member
    Non linear here. Typically I flatline for a while and then get a sudden 4-5 days of large daily weight loss, e.g. 6 pounds in 5 days. Then another flatline. The flatlines are frustrating, but the sudden drops are fun!
  • NovusDies
    NovusDies Posts: 8,940 Member
    I have only seen one person who had a fluctuation in her last 5 pounds that claimed she never saw one in the 40 she lost before. I am not sure of her weighing schedule.

I assume I lose fat weight linearly. I just can't see it on the bathroom scale that way.
  • nooboots
    nooboots Posts: 480 Member
    I think everyone loses weight in a linear manner but it doesnt show on the scale like that, the 2 things are not the same.