Feeling the muscle working

Movemoreguy22
Movemoreguy22 Posts: 387 Member
If I'm working on exceries for arms/chest/legs/shoulders/abs I can feel them muscles working and contracting and getting the "burn" and feel like I've done a good workout but with back im struggling people, never get the feeling I do like from other muscles mentioned.
I try and stay away from BB bentover rows due to back problems but If i do one arm bentover row on a bench (for example) I never feel it in my back and i can't go too heavy cos then I start using my arm to get the weight up. So is it all about finding the right angles for myself.

I was wondering, i work in the concrete industry that uses alot of pulling motion and legs, would it be cos my back is worked out everyday so it's used to hard work or is it in my head and im making excuses

Cheers people.

Replies

• ragingrequiem8519
    ragingrequiem8519 Posts: 1 Member
    My first post ever! I'm no expert at all but I've heard the back muscles are significantly stronger than our "pushing" muscles; so maybe you just need to increase the intensity? (Safely of course, the back also seems to be easily injured).

Another thing that could be your issue is you don't have a strong mind muscle connection with your back muscles so you aren't flexing them quite as well as you could; so you're using other muscles to compensate. Just my thoughts on the matter.
  • pierinifitness
    pierinifitness Posts: 2,231 Member
    Try seated horizontal rows and pull-ups.
  • ExistingFish
    ExistingFish Posts: 1,259 Member
    I don't feel dumbell bent over rows in my back, I feel it in my arms. I like cable seated rows, it's all back for me. I think it is just individual how your body moves for certain things like that.

I don't per se feel pull-ups in my back, it feels like a whole-body movement, but I feel the effect in my back afterward.
  • Movemoreguy22