Spices, spicey seasonings: what's your favorite?

13»

Replies

• slimgirljo15
    slimgirljo15 Posts: 269,440 Member
    Dried chilli flakes or Thai green curry paste
  • DancingMoosie
    DancingMoosie Posts: 8,613 Member
    I like Sriracha sauce and "slap ya mama" seasoning.
  • Emmapatterson1729
    Emmapatterson1729 Posts: 1,296 Member
    I like making my own spice mixes.

Favorite current is:
    cardamom, ginger, tumeric, allspice, curry powder. (If I want to add a kick: cayenne or red pepper flakes).

Baked chicken in this mix makes the house smell amazing!!!

Or add dried apricots and raisins with these spices to rice!
  • Veilleux311
    Veilleux311 Posts: 27 Member
    I am a Trader Joe's spice and seasoning aisle stalker. I use their Everything But the Bagel, 21 Seasoning Salute, South African Smoke Seasoning and Chile Lime Seasoning Blend all the time. Plus the items are cheap and they have quite few to choose from.

We only have 1 Trader Joe's store in our state and I love their quality. They need to build one closer to our region but the items/prices you mention would be worth checking out the next time we're in that area. It's a 1.5 hour drive to reach the TJ store up here..
  • Veilleux311
    nooshi713 wrote: »
    I have a ton of spices in my cupboard.

Besides garlic and onion, I use a ton of turmeric, paprika, sumac, and red pepper flakes.

I also put hot sauce on many things.

Sumac is something I've never tried. Thank you for the advice!
  • Veilleux311
    AnnPT77 wrote: »
    Lately, gochujang chile paste. Sometimes I mix it with peanut butter powder and rice vinegar to make a calorie-manageable hot peanut sauce.

Pickapeppa sauce is also good (Jamaican, with the kind of flavor profile you'd expect, spicy, sweet, sour, and has notes of fruit, ginger, cloves, etc., as well as being spicy (there's an extra hot version, too)).