Resistance training

Where is the best place to start for a total beginner?

Replies

• Hannahwalksfar
    Hannahwalksfar Posts: 572 Member
    Beginner gym classes or a personal trainer
  • whmscll
    whmscll Posts: 2,254 Member
    Personal trainer.
  • sgt1372
    sgt1372 Posts: 3,974 Member
    Starting Strength or Sttonglifts.
  • emmamcgarity
    emmamcgarity Posts: 1,593 Member
    I use HASfit beginner videos on YouTube with dumbbells
  • whmscll
    edited August 2019
    sgt1372 wrote: »

Be careful of these as a complete beginner. Use online resources and/or a trainer to learn correct form, and do not feel the need to add as much weight as fast as these programs proscribe, especially as a woman. They advocate too much too soon for some people. I sidelined myself several times for months at a time trying to do these programs exactly as written, without realizing it was too much for me as a beginner and without a solid foundation in correct form.

• kshama2001
    kshama2001 Posts: 27,886 Member
    whmscll wrote: »

Be careful of these as a complete beginner. Use online resources and/or a trainer to learn correct form, and do not feel the need to add as much weight as fast as these programs proscribe, especially as a woman. They advocate too much too soon for some people. I sidelined myself several times for months at a time trying to do these programs exactly as written, without realizing it was too much for me as a beginner and without a solid foundation in correct form.

Yes, I'm a woman in my 50s with knee issues and found no so-called beginner programs actually suitable for me, even though I am not actually a beginner.

@teasie77 I agree with the recommendations for a personal trainer.
  • mcsega
    mcsega Posts: 19 Member
    ^ Agreed. Weight training and crossfit are sports and as with any sport you run the risk of injuring yourself, especially if you start upping the resistance too fast.
  • middlehaitch
    middlehaitch Posts: 8,483 Member