Any advice on creatine?

2»

Replies

• DM88ENT
    DM88ENT Posts: 31 Member
    warnongbri wrote: »
    DM88ENT wrote: »
    Hi, I'm wondering what everyone is taking for creatine. I'm very new to using supplements. I hear a lot of kidney and liver problems. Just looking for tips. I appreciate your time!

Andrew

Creatine monohydrate is what I use.
    It's also the kind that has been researched the most.

On kidneys, I think I remember reading that the risks that were previously thought have been revisited and that it's more of an issue for those with a pre existing condition.

Thanks monohyderate it is.
  • DM88ENT
    Cahgetsfit wrote: »
    I use creatine mono. Not as consistently as it should be used (5g per day) because I keep the bag at work and take it before the gym but sometimes I forget.

What I do notice is that it gives me a bigger pump/veinz after the workout.

Other than that, don't know, can't tell any difference whatsoever. Possibly some water retention, but if so it's just making my muscles look fuller so I don't mind.

Re the kidneys thing, I dont think creatine is a contributor to kidney problems, however, since I have started eating more protein than before, my urea levels in my blood work have increased to be above the normal range. Not heaps above, but always a bit above. Dr said that it's normal in athletes.

If you have kidney problems though and your urea is high, then that is not a good thing.

I guess the dr it is.. I'll have to get blood work done to verify all is good. Thanks!
  • DM88ENT
    sijomial wrote: »
    Tried it twice, first time couldn't tell any difference at all.
    Second time it upset my stomach and gave no positive benefits at all.
    I might be a non-responder, I might simply get enough from my regular diet without supplementation.

But it's well studied, safe, inexpensive and helps a lot of people. Worth a try IMHO.
    Examine.com has a comprehensive write up on it which addresses your concerns.