sudden drop weight-loss

I'm new to weight-loss
Female, 5'5"
Starting weight: 155lbs+

Diet: 1200 cal deficit

Week 1-2: lost 10lbs (assuming it was water weight, and because I didn't realize I had to eat back my exercise cals...)

Since then, I am eating back my exercise cals, and have been losing about 1lb/week.

Recently, I plateaued at 139lbs for a couple of weeks.

After some friendly feedback on MFP, I decided to change things up and eat more, so 1290 cals/day (instead of 1200) and still eating back my exercise cals.

Within 1 week, I dropped from the plateau of 139lbs to 135lbs. The only change I made was to add 100 calories extra food each day. I'm also more settled into my strength training routine (not sure what difference that would make). Sudden water weight loss again as my muscles adjust?

Now I seem to be back to losing 1lb/week again.

I know weight can fluctuate wildly sometimes. However, I'm now in a healthy weight range, and will likely be going into maintenance soon. Just curious. What might account for the sudden larger fluctuation mid-way through my otherwise steady loss, while I actually added eating extra calories?

Replies

• noblsheep
    noblsheep Posts: 584 Member
    Ditto hormones.

Or if you've recently lowered your carb consumption, you might lose another few pounds of water suddenly.

Doing cardio also seems to make my weight fluctuate, although I haven't wrapped my brain around that one yet.
  • amandarawr06
    amandarawr06 Posts: 251 Member
    edited November 2019
    My first thought is hormones. I tend to hover around the same weight (or even gain a pound or two) for 3 weeks per month, then have a sudden drop at a certain point in my cycle.

I used to have this as well. I would lose max a half a pound a week for about 3 weeks and on week 4 I would drop between 3-6lbs. It went on like this for a half a year until I began maintaining. Now that I am eating a deficit again, I haven't noticed that trend again (yet)
  • kshama2001