Gaining Muscle

Smesmond27
Smesmond27 Posts: 4 Member
What is the best advice for building lean muscle mass? I’ve lost a lot of fat weight over the past couple of years, but I’m really struggling to put on muscle mass and definition. I’m an 18yr old 5’10 female, weighing about 135lbs. I’ve talked to a nutritionist, and trainers about this, and nothing has worked so far. I’m also Majoring in Exercise and Fitness Science, and have yet to learn about what would help ME. Thanks!

Replies

• 11Templars
    11Templars Posts: 444 Member
    Carlos_421 wrote: »
    Follow a proven lifting program with progressive overload while eating sufficient protein.

Pretty much what this gentleman said: Try out this 5x5 routine. It's a great program.

https://stronglifts.com/5x5/#gref

Try that out for 12 weeks, eat at least 100gm of protein a day, and after your first two weeks of going slow to get used to your program push yourself, push yourself, push yourself!

Speaking from experience, consistency is the key. You can't do something half assed and expect good results. You'll have to put in the work, but, I promise, you put in the work, keep the diet clean, and track your protein levels, you'll get results. Remember, this is about the long game. Rome wasn't built in a day.

I'm happy to help in any way I can...

Blessings,
  • quiksylver296
    quiksylver296 Posts: 28,442 Member
    Follow a proven lifting program with progressive overload while eating sufficient protein.
    sardelsa wrote: »
    Overall, you want to go slow and steady, so a 0.5lb or less per week gain (250 cals over maintenance daily) is good. Also make sure you are follow a progressive lifting program (something proven, balanced and has you progressing over time). Get adequate protein too, 0.8-1g per lb bodyweight.

If you want more detailed info, these stickies are very helpful

https://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/10300326/most-helpful-posts-goal-gaining-weight-must-reads#latest