adding exercise to app or no

Hi! So right now my calories are around 1,700 a slight calorie deficit, and I was wondering if I should add my exercise (calories burned) in because let’s say i have 700 calories left the exercise then bumps me up to like 1100 again, I feel like I would just be eating them back. Hope this makes sense, i am new to this so please let me know! I train hard 5-6x a week!

Replies

• janejellyroll
    janejellyroll Posts: 25,763 Member
    If your calorie goal comes from MFP, it was given to you with the intention that you eat back exercise calories. Your feeling that you'd be eating them back is accurate, it's the way the system is designed.

If you're training hard, it's going to be very difficult for you to be successful if you're not accounting for that in your plan.
  • amberclem6
    amberclem6 Posts: 12 Member
    For me, I am new to TDEE and it has helped me the past week. I also work out 5-6x times a week (but again I am new to working out that much-just finished week one of my program) and I have found that using a TDEE calulator has helped me even though it feels like I'm eating too much daily. To answer your question, I don't use the MFP exercise log due to it being very inaccurate (for me) when I compared my workout to other apps or to the equipment I was using. I used a TDEE calculator that was referenced in a different post not too long ago. It was from the website Damn Ripped and their articles are pretty insightful.
  • amberclem6
    amberclem6 Posts: 12 Member
    If your calorie goal comes from MFP, it was given to you with the intention that you eat back exercise calories. Your feeling that you'd be eating them back is accurate, it's the way the system is designed.

If you're training hard, it's going to be very difficult for you to be successful if you're not accounting for that in your plan.

True, MFP uses the NEAT system to help. I didn't find it useful but others have.
  • janejellyroll