US coronavirus stimulus payment may require you to have filed a tax return for 2018 or 2019

kshama2001
kshama2001 Posts: 27,843 Member
edited March 2020 in Health and Weight Loss
I have some friends and family who are not required to file tax returns and have let them know about this, and thought I would do the same for my MFP family. (You can still file a return even if you are not required to do so.)

Disclaimers:
  1. This is pending legislation, not yet law. It has passed the Senate and is expected to pass the House March 27, and then be signed into law.
  2. Reminder to not get political else this thread will be shut down.
  3. I am not a tax professional.

https://www.nytimes.com/article/coronavirus-stimulus-package-questions-answers.html

...What if I haven’t filed tax returns recently, would that affect my ability to receive a payment?

It could. File a return immediately, at least for 2018, according to the I.R.S. website. “Those without 2018 tax filings on record could potentially affect mailings of stimulus checks,” the site says.

If you’re worried about money that you owe that you cannot pay, the I.R.S. recommends consulting a tax professional who can help you request an alternative payment plan or some other resolution.

https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/irs-operations-during-covid-19-mission-critical-functions-continue

Non-filers: Haven't filed a tax return for a previous year? Take steps now.