1500 cal a day plus fasting..

Anyone know how safe it would be to consume less then 1500 calories most days and then do 1 maybe 2 72 hour fasts every month?

Replies

• poopenella
    poopenella Posts: 1 Member
    SarahPeluso92-I don't have the answer, but I highly recommend you check out Thomas DeLauer on YouTube. He'll probably have the answer plus give you tons of science backed info about fasting. I'm just getting started, so his channel has consumed most of my Coronacation! :D
  • Whydahdad71
    Whydahdad71 Posts: 316 Member
    I would not recommend that approach. The calories might work (depending on your lifestyle) but the fasts don't make sense to me.
  • amummystale
    amummystale Posts: 18 Member
    Given that part of it includes starving yourself for a period of time I'm gonna say probably not very
  • ruffneckred
    ruffneckred Posts: 69 Member
    This is the first I have seen an MFP discussion on extended fasting, apparently it is taboo. I can understand that as without applying some common sense it could be hazardous. I have done some extended fasting, any suggestions on discussions ongoing, either here or off site would be appreciated. Thanks
  • Lietchi
    Lietchi Posts: 6,094 Member
    Anyone know how safe it would be to consume less then 1500 calories most days and then do 1 maybe 2 72 hour fasts every month?

Aside from not really seeing the benefit of 72 hours fasts, I will add that we cannot tell you if those fasts combined with "less than 1500 calories" are safe or not, since we don't have enough info.
    - how much less than 1500? 1499 calories, 1400, 1200, or even less...?
    - what is your current weight, height and age ? And your goal weight?
    - how active are you in daily life (job, hobbies, housework,...)? How much do you exercise on top of that?
    - how active do you intend to be during those fasts?