August 2020 Monthly Running Challenge

Replies

• hamsterwheel6
    hamsterwheel6 Posts: 544 Member
    The issues of running a HM with a non-runner former professional footballer;
    - "Do you have water?" - "Yes", a few miles in pulls out a 330ml bottle
    - Starting mile pace 09:30 - "We need to keep it steady", shortly after 1 mile split 08:51, mile eleven 13:03!!!
    - Plans a route with a mad inclines at 7 and 9 miles
    - Starts at the hpotest part of the day
    - The 13.2 mark of the route was 5.6 miles from home "I thought we might run farther, but I can't"

Still he made it so fair play!

Haha. You did it though!
  • kgirlhart
    kgirlhart Posts: 4,964 Member
    August Goal: 100 Miles

8/2: 10.52 miles

10.52/100 miles completed for August

826.53/1000 miles for Run the Year Team Pavement Pounders

I got up this morning to an unusually nice August morning. I made it out the door at 6:59 am (I am not good at getting up early on Sundays so before 7 is always hard). It was 65°F when I got up and the humidity was 79% and the dew point was 61° which was much nicer than it has been lately. It was really pleasant and stayed that way for most of the run. I was starting warm by the time I got home. It was 75°F by then but the humidity was down to 59% and it was still pretty nice. The sun was out, but I managed to find plenty of shade and one water sprinkler and I really enjoyed my 10.5 mile run. I was even able to keep my average pace at 10:49. It was so nice that after I showered I went out in the yard and threw the frisbee for Ein the Corgi and just enjoyed the morning. It's a good thing too since later this afternoon it was 101°F

Monthy questions: