Sticking to calories but weight not going down?

I started training 3 times per week for the past month at a gym, lots of strength and conditioning and I’m keeping my steps over 70K per week. I’m eating 1600 cals per day, 5’4 female. While I feel fitter, stronger and positive and in tracking everything my weight is not going down. Should I reduce my calories or wait longer?
Thanks

Replies

• RockingWithLJ
    RockingWithLJ Posts: 243 Member
    It could be the types of foods you're eating. Once I starting getting in the recommended amounts of veggies, fruits, a variety of protein types and healthy fats into my diet, I've lost more on a 1800 calorie diet than when I was lower not incorporating those things..
  • quiksylver296
    quiksylver296 Posts: 28,443 Member
    If you're logging 1,600 calories every day for the past four weeks, it's likely that one of two things have happened.

1) You are making some logging errors that are resulting in you eating more than you think you are. This is pretty common. If you open your diary, we may be able to help you troubleshoot. Some common issues are incorrect database entries or inaccurate estimation of portion sizes.

2) You are eating 1,600 calories and it isn't a deficit for you. While many people do find that MFP's estimate of their calorie needs is accurate, others do find they use more or fewer calories than it would indicate. If you have eliminated the possibility of logging errors and you're not losing weight, then you'll need to remove some calories to create a deficit.

I would consider two to be a less likely option given the activity level you've indicated.

This^^

Do you use a food scale? If not, start there.

http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/10634517/you-dont-use-a-food-scale/p1

https://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/10697068/how-i-stopped-kidding-myself/p1
  • AwesomeSquirrel
    AwesomeSquirrel Posts: 632 Member